Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Album Review: Andrew Rayel - Mystery of Aether

Andrew Rayel is one of the fastest rising star in Trance music. He’s on the top of his game at the moment and what a great time to release his debut compilation. When he posted on his Facebook and Twitter about this first compilation, I got all giddy and excited. I've been following the style of this neophyte and there's no sign of him slowing down. Especially now being backed by the world's four-time DJ Mag #1 DJ Armin van Buuren, he is being tagged as the AvB's protege and even the modern-day Mozart. 

The 21-year old talent is known for his very own, distinctive sound, bringing trance a refreshing, new sound. That sound, loved by many, myself included, can now be found on Andrew’s very first compilation Mystery of Aether.

It hasn't been more than 24 hours since I have gotten my hands on my copy of this compilation and I have been bumping it all day. The initial impression I got upon first few listens is that the compilation brings the sounds of Andrew Rayel, in full effect. From the most touching, emotional twists to stumping beats, hard-hitting bass and quieting breaks, this is Rayel doing what he does best. Through the tracks of Airbase, Dash Berlin, Armin van Buuren, Alex Wackii, Orjan Nilsen, Alexandre Bergheau and of course himself, Andrew moves you, by unfolding Mystery of Aether beat by beat. It was also good that it includes a continuous mix of the whole compilation for a more dramatic, emotional, and tranquil journey into euphoria.

This guy truly lives up to what trance music is, as I have mentioned previously in my blog entries, and even in a contest I have joined for the Loudbasstard promo for the Andrew Rayel in Manila gig, the guy gives a dramatic, existential, majestic titles to his tunes that somewhat describe the feeling when listening to his work, ergo Mystery of Aether.

Track list:

01. Airbase – Modus Operandi (Andrew Rayel Intro Radio Edit) (03:52)
02. Tasadi & Aryas – Lost Garden (Faruk Sabanci Dirty Rock Mix) (05:58)
03. Andrew Rayel – Zeus (Radio Edit) (03:27)
04. Tenishia – Pantera (Radio Edit) (03:37)
05. Bogdan Vix – Stella Maris (Radio Edit) (03:28)
06. Maarten De Jong – Wave Glider (Radio Edit) (03:19)
07. Armin van Buuren & W&W – D# Fat (Radio Edit) (03:15)
08. Alex Wackii – Marianne (Radio Edit) (03:48)
09. Fisherman & Hawkins – Apache (Official Radio Edit) (02:50)
10. Dash Berlin & Alexander Popov feat. Jonathan Mendelsohn – Steal You Away (Radio Edit) (03:00)
11. Klauss Goulart & Mark Sixma – Rio (Radio Edit) (03:38)
12. Orjan Nilsen – Violetta (Radio Edit) (03:15)
13. Alex M.O.R.P.H. feat. Sylvia Tosun – An Angel’s Love (Andrew Rayel Aether Radio Edit) (03:32)
14. Alexandre Bergheau – Damavand (Original Mix) (08:06)
15. Bobina with Andrew Rayel – Sacramentum (Andrew Rayel Aether Radio Edit) (04:14)
16. Andrew Rayel – Musa (Radio Edit) (03:35)
17. Andrew Rayel & Alexandre Bergheau – We Are Not Afraid Of 138 (Radio Edit) (03:28)
18. A.R.D.I. – Beyond The Time (Radio Edit) (03:51)

19. Andrew Rayel – Mystery Of Aether (Full Continuous DJ Mix) (78:09.00)

Feel free to share your comments...